top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

Hey Sister, Wanna Join My Posse?

Originally posted May 17, 2012

I’ve been overzealous in supporting women religious in this country, posting numerous articles and comments on Facebook. Articles regarding the short-sightedness of the Catholic Bishops Conference, who are bent on fulfilling an edict from Rome, which I believe is intended to close the doors to a religion once so accepting and tolerant. 

In posting these articles I assumed that anyone taking the time to read them was like-minded. Much to my surprise an entry appeared from a man I know. His comment was lengthy and pertained to reasons why the Catholic Church, the Vatican and the Conference of Bishops might be right in clamping down on the nuns. After taking the time to read his post, my response was: You just don’t understand this is about power and control.

After I wrote that comment, he continued the conversation with a rather belligerent post, and the only piece that has stuck with me is: “You and your nuns are the reason why abortion exists today.”

Me and my nuns? 

I couldn’t believe he wrote that, me and my nuns? Careful reading of many articles in support of Women Religious in the United States convey the reason many nuns walk the gauntlet of protesters to help women access basic healthcare at Planned Parenthood. And it isn’t to perpetuate abortion. 

Many, many women know that – in order to change behavior you must first model good behavior. The nuns support these women with the hope that their practice of unconditional love and acceptance will help women to change their behavior. 

The divide between Catholic patriarchy and the people is growing deeper. However, my guess is that women religious, resourceful to say the least, will continue to serve the poor, the marginalized and those in need. They will do so in quiet ways without fanfare, without the blessings of a Pope who wears Prada, and has his own specially designed cologne. 

We are at a juncture in American culture and the American Catholic Church, no denying and the most pressing question that seems to reappear is: Whose God am I serving? 

Hey Sister, wanna join my posse? I am certainly on your side.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page